During the month of November at the dinner table, I ask everyone what they’re thankful for. This particular day, I took my daughter out for supper following dance. I’d forgotten to ask her and so we had our conversation while driving home. When I asked her response was this: Caleena (one of her preschool teachers) is thankful for all the cars and the city. Then she went on to say that she was thankful for God because he made all the cars and the cities. Noticing the trees, she went on to say that God made the tall, tall trees and listed off several things she saw as we drove. Finally she asked me, “Mommie, does God get tired? The trees are so tall and the cities are so big. That must be tiring to make all of it.”

I left this conversation feeling happy. In our house we do our best to talk about God, to reinforce that there is a God and the behavior that gives Him glory. She speaks openly about Him and it’s not uncommon for her to talk about God. This conversation was different. She wasn’t just stating facts or repeating things I’ve told her. From this conversation, I was re-assured that she not only thinks about what He’s done for us but she is grateful for what He does for us.

Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.  Mark 10:14

Ever since I started talking with her about God, I’ve been so impressed with her faith in Him. She has believed unconditionally that He exists and loves her. Her genuine belief is empowering and inspires me to be a better Christian. She loves to go to church. Her faith comes naturally. I’m certain God has great things in mind for her.

I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a  little child will never enter it.  Mark 10:15

Child-like faith. It was a concept I didn’t fully understand until I had my own child. They, without reservation, believe in all things concrete and mystical. If they are told it exists, it does. No questions or over thinking. He exists and that’s that. As we age, we become more skeptical of all things unseen. We question everything and almost seem to look for a way to not believe in God. Of all things my children have taught me, I believe this is the biggest lesson: believe in God and take Joy in Him as a child does.

My goal going forward is to be more child-like in my faith. I want to take Joy in the Lord. I’m planning to spend less time questioning and more time listening and following. I do believe God is working through my daughter. I believe she’s more accepting of His guidance because she’s less bogged down by worldly things. I will become less bogged down and take time to really listen and really thank Him for everything He does for us.

I challenge you to think about this too. How can you become more child-like in your faith? What is holding you back?

Prayer for childlike faith:

Dear God. Thank-you for the lessons brought to us by the smallest of people. Thank-you for providing me with my child who is helping me to see you differently. Please help me to look at the world with all the awe and wonder of a child. Help me to have child-like faith. Please continue to provide me opportunities to not only teach and guide my daughter but for her to teach and guide me. In Jesus name, I pray. Amen.

