20130308_160820

Book Review: True Honor by Dee Henderson

I mentioned several posts back that I joined a book club at my church. I really am liking it. It helps to force me to read. That may be a bit harsh since I love reading. What it more does is force me to make time for reading instead of watching TV or putting the dishes away or sleeping. The book choices are all Christian based novels. Its introduced me to new authors and I’m loving that!

Last month’s choice was True Honor by Dee Henderson. I really enjoyed it. Here is the review I wrote for Amazon.

This is the first book I’ve read from this author. It was well-written and a good read. I really enjoyed that the characters interactions seemed genuine especially when discussing their faith. I don’t typically read spy books or military based books because so often they seem very unrealistic. I feel this book did a good job representing that there isn’t always neat action-filled moments in the spy business. It demonstrated the paper trail and more boring parts of being a spy. That was nice. I do agree with some of the other reviewers it did seem to drag on in parts- especially towards the end. The romance exchange between Darcy and Sam were very Christian based, so if you’re looking for more spice, this wouldn’t be for you.

I really liked the author’s writing style and plan on reading another one of her novels.

This month we’re reading A Skeleton in God’s Closet by Paul Maier. I’m really looking forward to it. It sounds like it’s very similar to the DeVinci Code which I’ve not read but have watched and enjoyed the movie.

What have you been reading? Anything good?

