20130327_225713

Earlier this week, I received my first, free hard copy book to review. I was pretty excited to get the book unfortunately the excitement was short-lived. Here is my review of Fortress of Mist by Sigmund Brouwer.

This is the second book the series of Merlin’s Immortals. The book follows the new Lord of Magnus, Thomas. Magnus is a land that is filled with supernatural evils. The people of Magnus are quite superstitious. Unfortunately for this young Lord, he is immediately tested and is forced out of the castle to assist with a battle against the Scots. As he is fighting his very human war he is also trying to learn more about the Druids and their supernatural powers. The plot line was quite intriguing to me.

Unfortunately, that is where it ended. The chapters are extremely short probably averaging 2-3 pages each. This made the book seem choppy and disconnected. I also felt there were so many places he could have “fleshed” out the story more. Often times there wasn’t enough information for me to get a true understanding of the characters actions. This lead me to have very little connection to any of the characters. I felt confused during most of the book and had some difficulty really understanding how each character was connected. I didn’t read the first book in this series. If I’d read it, I may have a better understanding of the connection. However, I suspect this author’s writing style and lack of “fleshing out” the story would’ve been the same. It seemed as if the author was in a rush to finish the book and didn’t take the time to truly build a story.

Ultimately, this book left me wanting more, and not in the good the way. I would not recommend this book.

This book received 2/5 bookends. 

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I am not required to provide a positive review of the book

Read Chapter 1

Happy reading!

