Here we go again, another review! This one was received from Bethany Publishing Company as part of their blogging for books program.

20130417_133612

Swept away by Mary Connealy was a great find. It follows the story of an unlikely pairing of Ruthie and Luke. Luke is on a mission to save his ranch from an outlaw. He pulls Ruthie out of a stream and into the danger. Joining in on the gun fight are some of Luke’s military friends. Each with very distinct personalities and talents. Even Ruthie has her own set of talent that helps out the cause. This is a story not only about returning the land to the rightful owner, but also one of new beginnings.

It was a quick easy read and pulled me in, rather quickly. Since this was the first Western I’ve read in a long time, I struggled a bit in the beginning and somewhat throughout the story with the Western language. In the first couple of chapters its quite heavy with Western vocabulary. I cringed as I read the very cliché language which seemed to fill the first chapter. However, as I kept reading either the use of the language decreased or I quite simply got use to it. On a few occasions the use of the language, specifically the term polecat, would pull me out of the story. At times it seemed a bit random in its placement. This book had very Christian undertones and did speak briefly about God with reference to praying and one of the characters is a preacher. Overall, this book is one that a non-christian or someone new to Christian novels could pick-up and read without feeling preached at. If you’re someone who likes to be completely submerged in Christianity when reading a novel, you may want to pass. I would recommend this book and am looking forward to reading the second book in the series.

I give this book a 4.5 of 5 bookends.

This book was provided for free by Bethany House Publishers I was not required to give a positive review.

What are you reading?

