I took this book along with me while I was on vacation. This is the first non-novel that I’ve read in quite some time. I must say, I didn’t steer wrong when I read this one.

I’m not certain I can do a review of this book justice, meaning this book tackles a topic I’m not overly knowledgeable in. My lack of knowledge is one reason I wanted to read this book. I will try to adequately review this book.

20130501_075113

Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris

This book defines orthodoxy as the right thinking about God. Humble orthodoxy is a balance between understanding Christian truths and presenting those truths. It encourages us to “care deeply about truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility”. It encourages us to remember to follow Jesus example of compassion and loving ones neighbor.

I enjoyed reading this book. It was written very clearly that I could easily understand the definition of orthodoxy and the author’s stance. I also finished the book feeling less intimidated discussing orthodoxic Christian beliefs. The author encouraged people to follow humble orthodoxy.

The book did have a study guide at the end of the book. I think it would have been nice to have the review following each chapter verses all at the end. Otherwise I really found the book enjoyable and added to my over knowledge. I would recommend this book to those new to Christianity as a good introduction and also to those who have been Christians for a while as a guide to discussing Christianity.

I give this book 5 out of 5 bookends.

I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to give a positive review.

