Mother’s Day, a day reserved for moms everywhere. Don’t worry, this is not a tongue-in-cheek writing on what I want for Mother’s Day. I mean, I could write one of those super witty diddos, but well, that wouldn’t be me. I’m not funny and often I read those and don’t find them overly funny. Seriously, who finds those selfish thoughts and ideas funny. I feel a bit guilty when I read those. That and bad for the kiddos. Because, if the parents really feel that way about their kids, I can guarantee those kids know it and feel bad. Don’t get me wrong, I have times when I just NEED a break. I need five minutes to drink my coffee. But, hey, that’s when my husband steps in. He’ll round’em up and give me my five minutes of sanity. And yes, I may take myself a bit too seriously. I’ve been told that a few times. I pretty much agree because being a parent IS my MOST IMPORTANT job EVER. Ever.

But I digress. I want to tell you what I really want for Mother’s Day. You know, beyond the flowers and jewelry, meals cooked for me and whatever else mothers across the country are wishing for. But what I want, truly want is something that may sound a bit, well strange to you. Especially if you’re one who enjoys the tongue-in-cheek thoughts. What I want may seem not for me, and I guess I would agree with you.

What I want more than anything else is this: My family hanging out with me and I want a life time of happy healthy children.

Ok, go ahead and roll your eyes. But it is truly what I want. I already know my day will be full of dance recital fun and church. I will be rushing to get my children fed and at the theater on time. Then I will be crammed into a band room with other moms and kids doing everything minus donning a full clown suit to keep the little ones from climbing the walls. When it’s my daughter’s turn I’ll quickly slip out to watch her dance her heart out. After the recital, we’ll tell her how proud we are of her and celebrate her big day.

Yup, very little of the day will revolve around me. And I’m OK with that. I’m not a mom who needs to hear that I”m doing a good job because will, the proof is in the evidence. And, the evidence is my kids. I’m reminded frequently by other’s how kind and caring my daughter is. That is proof that I’m doing a good job. My son’s medical condition is managed and the doctors tell me how great he looks. Again proof of a job well done. Don’t get me wrong, I would love some chocolates and flowers and dinner made for me. But, the most important this is my simple wish of my kids being happy and healthy.

I’ll leave you with a few pictures of my little treasures:

20130423_16450520130420_13350620121111_162523[1]DSCF7974

