I took the kids a few weeks ago to Barnes and Noble. We’d not been for a long time since I discovered the Kindle and Amazon for ordering books. I kind-of forgot how much I enjoyed that place! In my younger days, I use to hang-out there quite frequently. Sometimes I’d be lost in the books for hours and walk away empty-handed. Once I walked into the store and could smell the new books, my fingers tingled to reach out and hold onto something familiar. So all three of us left with books. It was a great time and the kids may have fallen in love with the book store which isn’t bad since there’s much worse things out there.

The kiddos got these neat little toy/book things. My daughter’s was My Little Pony and my son’s was Cars. Each one included a story, little figurines and a map. Since it was right before vacation they had to wait until we left to open it. It was a great find and not badly priced at 10 dollars each.

I purchased The Wild Water Walking Club by Claire Cook and a Suduko book for vacation. Now I didn’t get to read the Walking Club until now which is why this review is coming a couple of weeks following my vacation.

Without further ado, I present to you The Wild Water Walking Club by Claire Cook.

20130519_155834

Noreen voluntarily took the buy out from the company where she’d spent 18 years of her life. Since she took the buy-out she got a pretty good deal, salary for 18 months and job training program. Why is it the morning after leaving, she begins to question her decision and most importantly her life direction? She wakes up finding out that she may have been duped into taking the buy-out by a smooth talker who had already moved on to another woman. Left alone with an uncertain future, she begins to rediscover and redefine herself. Part of this comes with the assistance of the ladies of newly formed Wild Water Walking Club. The walking club consisted of two other woman. Each of the three dealing with struggles. The walking club because part therapy and part fun.

This really was a good read. I’m certain I’m not the demographic the book was marketing too as all of the characters have at least 10-15 years on me. Despite the pulp culture references of their time, I could connect with book. In fact, by the end of the book the woman of Wild Water Walking club felt like good friends. I felt comfortable enough with them I could imagine having coffee. I could see the different parts of my personality in each of the woman. Tess the rebel who fights for what she believes. Noreen redefining herself in her new role. Rosie falling into the role of family caregiver.

I did feel Tess’s character was a bit exaggerate and at times did grind on my nerves a bit. Rosie was the most well-rounded of the three. The author did a great job making Noreen not whiny. It would’ve been easy with all the life changes she was going through to make her that way.

This book was a nice, gentle read. I do recommend it especially now that summer is here. It will make you want to strap on some walking shoes and put up a clothes line.

This book receives 5/5 bookend.

