Adoring Addie is the first Amish book I’ve read. I was interested in it because it wasn’t the typical dilemma of “Am I going to be Amish?” or not. Not that those books are bad, they’re just done a lot. I’ve not read many Amish novels because I’m not overly interested in the decision of joining the Amish faith. As you read this review, I ask you to keep in mind this is the first Amish novel I’ve read and I’m no expert in Amish life.

20130701_121349

Adoring Addie is the second book in the Courtships in Lancaster County series. I did not read the first one but am considering it. This book is about Addie, a young Amish woman whose family wants her to marry Phillip. Although she’s not certain of her feelings for Phillip, she also plans to marry him. That is until she meets Jonathon. These two are immediately attracted to each and desire to court. Unfortunately, the two families are in a feud of sorts and they will not be allowed to spend time together needless to say marry.

I do see the Romeo and Juliet references throughout the story. This author is a very talented story-teller as she weaves the story of two and incorporates the Romeo and Juliet references. I was pulled into the story almost immediately and did enjoy it. The characters were enjoyable and I did connect with Addie and Jonathon. I’ve always enjoyed Romeo and Juliet parodies and this was no different.

However, there were plenty of areas I struggled in the story. I struggled with the Amish lifestyle she presented. I do understand each Amish group differ slightly in what is acceptable and how much English ways they adopt. I can give some here and there; however, I feel this author took a lot of liberties in what this group of Amish have adopted. I struggled with the disarray of children at the dinner table, wearing of flip-flops, fist fighting, ownership of telephones, etc. It seemed to me the author made them awfully English in order to help her write the story. These details were quite distracting to the actual story for me.

And there is the ending. Don’t get me wrong, I love a happy ending. What I struggled a bit with is how neatly and nicely it was all tied-up. In fact, I had to go back and re-read parts of it to make sure my eyes were not deceiving me. I don’t want to add much detail to spoil the ending, so I won’t say much except, things hardly end so neat.

Overall, this author has a knack at story telling and I enjoy the story. I would consider reading one of the author’s other books and would recommend it to others who want to read a sweet love story.

I give this book a 3 of 3 bookends.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest opinion and review of this book.

What are you reading?

