20130807_092828

This has been a topic in our house over the last few weeks. I’ve been thinking a lot about blessings from God, what they mean. It seems, in general, Christians have gotten a bit confused about what constitutes a blessing. Are they the little things in life? Are my children and loving husband my blessings? After all, I’m a good Christian woman. I work hard to teach my children about God’s grace. I pray daily. So shouldn’t I be blessed? Don’t I deserve to have blessings?

Well, I do feel very lucky to have God in my life. He has provided for me a loving family and has loaned me two fantastic children to help guide to him. My husband and I have jobs and we have a house. I see His Glory daily. But, am I blessed? Absolutely. I am saved. God gave his only son for me, for my salvation. He has said that I am so important he knows all the hairs on my head. He’s given me many gifts. All those things listed above are his gifts to me.

So, if those are gifts, what are my blessings? Using Mathew 5:4-12 as my guide, I’ve thought and re-thought about this. Blessings are not quite the same as his gifts. Blessings are not what the world would think as blessings. They are not financial security or a job promotion. They are not gliding through life without any pain or sorrow. This scripture defines blessings:

Blessed are the meek, for they shall possess the earth. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be consoled. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for justice, for they shall be satisfied. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God. Blessed are those who endure persecution for the sake of justice, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when they have slandered you, and persecuted you, and spoken all kinds of evil against you, falsely, for my sake: be glad and exult, for your reward in heaven is plentiful.

Blessing according to scripture are ways God brings us closer to him. They are hardships. They are lessons we’re taught. They’re life experiences which leave us vulnerable and encourages a stronger relationship with God. These little life struggles are gifts from God. Unfortunately, they are also often overlooked by the recipients. We forget to thank God for these blessings.

True blessings in my life:

1) My challenging childhood and relationship with my father and siblings

2) My son and his health issues

3) My ability to be an advocate for my mother and all the stress that involves

My gifts from God (in no particular order and not all-inclusive):

1) My wonderful children and caring husband

2) My essential needs are met

3) Both my husband and I have maintained jobs despite a less than optimal job market

4) My wonderfully supportive extended family

5) My salvation

I am forever thankful for the gifts he provides me. He helps ensure my needs are met. He provides with me wisdom and guides my day. I will be forever grateful to him. I will not expect anything more than my salvation. I am unworthy but he continues to bless me and provide me with gifts.

What blessings have you been provided? What gifts?

