20130821_073723

I have fond memories kindergarten and elementary school. I can remember the largeness of the gym/lunchroom to my six-year-old mind. I can remember the rug my grandmother had purchased for me to lay on during rest time. I can still remember the smell of the milk cartons for afternoon snack. And, I most definitely remember those colorful large clothes pins that denoted the special jobs for the week and most importantly, the line leader. I did so much enjoy kindergarten.

So, why is that now on the other end, sending my little 5 year-old off to kindergarten seems so sad to me. Sad, isn’t exactly the right word. It’s more, bitter-sweet. It’s very exciting to watch her grow and learn new things. It’s fun to see her achieve new accomplishments. But, there’s a sadness to it to. I’m saddened that I know my days with her being my baby are limited. I know her days and life will slowly become a bit more complicated. Maybe not this year, but slowly those little moments of snuggling and cuddling will disappear. It won’t happen overnight, but the start of school is certainly the beginning.

20130821_080532

Dear Miss Adams, please remember I’ve left in your procession my darling daughter, my world. Remember to be kind, to listen, and treat her with respect. Be firm when it’s needed but quick to give hugs and high-fives. Know that I will do my best to prepare her everyday for learning. Remember to communicate often with me and well before any little concerns become a problem. You’ve been left with a huge responsibility, please don’t take it lightly.

She gets out early today so I’ll pick her up and we’ll go to Starbucks and have a snack. She’ll tell me about her wonderful day and all the friends she’s made. I’ll feel relieved knowing her day went well. She will once again remind me how much more I worry than she and how resilient she is.

