20131012_085440(This is me right before a local run that supports local woman with young children who have breast cancer)

It’s funny how you can wake-up one day to find yourself somewhere you never thought you’d be. I went from pretty much hating jogging and avoiding it at all costs to now, loving it. Before the thought of actually jogging would make my palms sweat. If asked to jog, I’d chuckle and say, “Yeah, there’s no way that’s gonna happen”. My actual journey to jogging, well that’s for another post. A post, I really should write. What I will say is that I’m glad God pressed upon my heart to begin jogging. Had I avoided his urging, I would not only be missing out on something I truly love but also all the health benefits!

I’ve been jogging for 2 summers or 1.5 years. I’ve truly embraced it and get a bit cranky when I don’t get my jog in. I’m not naturally sports inclined. I’m certainly not fast.I am however, determined. Most importantly I enjoy jogging. I started jogging as part of my healthy kick. A little over 2 years ago I’d decided it was time for me to lose weight. I started watching my diet and in the following January, I started exercising on my elliptical. A couple of months later I was talked into training for a 5K. And well, the rest is, as they say, history.

In the last two years I’ve done 7 5k’s and 1 10K. I’m hoping to almost double the number of 5K’s next year by starting earlier in the season, thus training all winter long. My goal is to do at least 2 10K’s next year. In the back of my mind, I’ve got this nagging thought I should consider doing a 1/2 marathon. But, that won’t be next year, I have plan and train for that!

20130713_103338

Anyways, none of that really answers the question, Why do I do it? Here are the reason’s I jog:

1) Accomplishment: Since I never thought I would seriously be a jogger, I hated it after all, I’ve found an amazing sense of accomplishment when I’ve reached one of my goals. My first goals were to simply jog for 90 seconds and now I’ve achieved the goal of completing a 10K. That I’m proud of. It feels great to know that I’ve reached a goal and can set another, and another.

2) Reflection: I mostly enjoy jogging alone. This is mostly because it’s hard to find someone who can jog at my pace. Since I jog alone, jogging gives me time to be alone with my thoughts as well. I have plenty of time to reflect on things and to make decisions. Some of my best ideas came while I was jogging.

3) Relaxation: Jogging is one of the first things I think about when I need to de-stress and relax. I love this healthy outlet for relaxation. If I get irritated I slip on my shoes, put in my ear buds, and go. When I come back, I feel relaxed and have a better mindset to make decisions or address my stresses.

20130803_170314 (1)

4) A good example: My children are acutely aware of my jogging, especially my daughter. In fact, she recognizes my jogging clothes and shoes. She’ll often ask me if I’m going jogging if she sees I’m wearing the gear. She’s noticing my efforts at staying healthy and physically fit. I know I’m making an impression that I hope lasts a lifetime for my children.

5) My body is a temple: As a Christian, it’s important for me to remember that God gave me this body. I am to take good care of it. Part of doing that is maintaining a healthy life-style. Not just by eating right but also by exercising. We’re instructed to not be sloths or lazy but to be active! So, jogging is a great way for me to honor God and focus on staying healthy.

Are you a jogging/runner? Do you have an exercise you enjoy? I’d love to hear why you do it?

