It’s amazing how quickly time goes during the holidays! I can hardly believe December is half over. Further more I can’t believe how little I have done and prepared for Christmas. That paired up with some computer/technical issues and I feel a bit behind. All of this isn’t helped by the fact I had a wonderful distract to read.

Sisterchicks: On the Loose by Robin Jones Gunn

Sisterchicks: On the Loose tells the story of Sharon and Penny’s trip to Finland. Sharon and Penny despite their differences are long time friends. Penny, a free spirit, takes the reserved Sharon on the trip of a lifetime. This spontaneous trip has God’s fingerprint on it from the beginning as challenges lead to self-discovery and growth. Both will return home forever changed.

This was a great book! It was a fast read but don’t mistake it for complete fluff. This book has several underlining themes: family, love, friendship, salvation, and self-discovery to name a few. As the trip progresses you see Sharon grow and change. She’d always assumed she was the one teaching in their relationships but she learns to learn and grow from Penny. By the end of the book, Penny learns to let go of her fear. This book helps prove that one is never to old to grow and make changes in our lives. We can do self-exploration at any age.

I really enjoyed this well thought-out story. It was well-written and left me wanting to find out more. The characters were connectable. Some of the minor characters left just as much of an impression on me as the main ones. I really enjoyed getting to know each one.

I almost always try to list some negatives to the books as I review them. However, this time I cant’ think of any. It’s not that it’s a perfect book. It was just satisfying as a quick-fun read. It didn’t leave me wanting of anything.

Overall I loved this book. It is an author at her best. I would recommend this book to anyone look for a quick Christian novel.

I give this book a 5 out 5 bookends.

“I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.”

If you would like additional information on this author and her books, go to her website at : http://www.robingunn.com/

