I was very lucky this month, both my book from the blogging for books program and my book club were the same! I think this is the first time this has happened. Now, I’ll confess, it might be because I helped choose the book for bookclub. Furthermore I was lucky because I enjoyed the book.

cover (283×450)

Sister Chicks do the Hula by Robin Jones Gunn This book tells the traveling tale of two best friends. Years prior Hope and Laurie agreed to go to Hawaii and the time has come for them to go. The timing isn’t perfect since Hope is unexpectantly pregnant. Laurie is working through the hard decision of moving. The two dive into the culture of Hawaii learning about its rich history. They meet native islanders who help enrich their trip and the book for the readers.

Gunn does a great job with this book. I will admit that Hawaii hasn’t been on my list of must go to places. However, reading this book and the author’s obvious love for the island, I’ve gotten a much better appreciate it for it. I found the people she introduced to the readers as wonderfully textured. I enjoyed reading about the island’s history through the characters. I really enjoy how this author tends to pair of up unlikely friends or, well, friends who seem quite opposite. This was true in the other Sister Chicks book and am now wondering if this is a trend for the this author. I enjoyed this as it added a bit more depth to the story and certainly seemed more realistic to me. Afterall, my closest friends are very different in personality than myself. I also think it helps to demonstrate how even as Christians we can be very different.

The one negative I found in the book is I had a hard time connecting with either main character. I think it was just me. The book is very well written and wonderful. I just couldn’t imagine myself hanging out with either of the two main characters. Or even the minor ones in fact, other though textured, I was not able to connect. This is quite odd to me as usually if I like a book, I really like the characters. But, for whatever reason this time, they seemed like they were people I met at a party and walked away feeling like I should like them but I couldn’t connect. Strange I know. And my no means should this discourage you from reading the book. It was wonderfully written.

Over all, I enjoyed the book and history added in but couldn’t connect with the characters.

“I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.”

I give this book a 3.5 out of 5 bookends.

What have you been reading? Please share if you’ve found a good book or if you’ve reviewed something recently.

