cover (296×450)

Echoes of Mercy by: Kim Vogel Sawyer

Caroline Lang is sent undercover to investigate a suspicious murder at the Dinsmore Chocolate factory and the use of underage workers. She is an opinionated woman who feels strongly against child labor, no matter the work conditions. While investigating she meets Ollie Moore who is also undercover observing the operations of the factory. Ollie believes child labor is a benefit to the community. With both of them assuming false identities and on opposite sides of child labor, can they trust each other and build a friendship? Can that friendship lead to more?

I absolutely loved this book! It pulled me in right away with wonderfully written characters and intriguing story line. The characters seemed very real and I enjoyed getting to know them. The story is written from several points of view, mostly from the two main. This helped expand the depth of the story. I liked how each section was labeled with the character so I was never confused whose point of view I was viewing the story from. Even the minor characters had depth demonstrating the author’s obvious talent for story telling.

The christian themes in the story are well woven into the story. The father figure in the story pointed out many times a theme throughout the book, trust in the Lord and lay your worries at his feet through prayer. This is a story of self-growth, faith, love, and salvation. It is a wonderful example how God does answer prayers, maybe in unexpected ways, but he always answers. 

I highly recommend this historical romance laced with social and Christian themes.

On a scale of 1-5 bookends, I give this a 5.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review. I was not required to provide a positive review.

If you’d like to sample this book, read chapter 1 here.

What have you been reading? I’d love to get some suggestions.

