So, yet another book review from me. I’m reading a lot these days! Unfortunately there’s not much to do with the freezing temps and snow. I really can’t wait for spring when I can get outside and enjoy some fresh air! But until the weather straightens up here, I will be inside reading.

The Lost Boys by Lilian Carmine

17 year-old Joe Grey has moved to a new town because of her mom’s new job. Her immediate attraction to Tristan has her returning daily to the  grave yard where they meet. Soon after arrival she finds out she’ll be going to a boarding school and dreads leaving him. One fateful night will affect their future. Will Tristan and Joe be together?

I was pretty excited to get this book. I felt like the premise was good and looked forward to discovering the secret. The author was detailed oriented. There were very few errors. I felt the beginning of the book was really pretty good but I found I lost interest in the highschool drama about 1/2 way through. By that point, I just wanted to finish it.

I did struggle with this book for several reasons. One, I’m not 100% the author knew who she wanted her audience to be. Over all the language and story telling style seemed junior high’ish. The book focused a lot on the going’s on at the highschool and highschool drama. But then she throws in minor sexual jokes and themes and alcohol use which, in my opinion, lends it to college age reader.

The other flaw with the book is the unrealistic and/or forced plot creations. For example, when she arrives to school she’s accidentally assigned a boy’s room. Not only doesn’t she or the boy mind but her mom signs a release form to allow her to continue to share a room with a boy. Although times are changed from when I was young, but there’s no way I’d been allowed to do that. Nor, despite being a tomboy, would I have been comfortable sharing a room with a boy I just met. That’s just one example.

Overall, the book wasn’t horrible. It just really needed to move along faster with less filler and have a more targeted audience. I wouldn’t either encourage or discourage someone to read the book. I did noticed this is intended to be a trilogy, I’m not sure I’d read either of the two books.

I would give this book a 3 out of 5 bookends.

I received this book from Random House UK, Ebury publishing via Netgallery for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this book!
Have you read this book? If so let me know what you think. Have you read anything good recently? I’d love to hear from you!

