You know when you read a book and you’re so involved in it, you find yourself reading it every minute you can. Sitting in a five-minute drive, not driving obviously. Sitting in the Dr’s office. While dinner is cooking. You want to read it and finish it. Well this book was this for me.

Eyes of the Enemy by Kelly Hess

Beynn lived in a peaceful village. It was years past the Sorak Wars and the town was far from the Sorak border. The village was peaceful until the festival when he was 13. That night, the Sorak attacked his village looking for him and he was sent on a mission of self-discovery and to save the village.

This book reminds me of the Hobbit in so many ways. It was a fun-filled fantasy minus the gore of modern novels. It is a story of Beynn learning his past and finding a way to live with the unexpected. It is a book that a parent could easily let their child to read. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

I would recommend this book to any middle school-aged child or anyone looking for an old-school fantasy story.

I give this book a 5 out 5 bookends.

This book was provided to me by Netgallery.com for free for an honest review.

