I read this story slowly. Not because it didn’t pull me in but rather, it hit a little to close to home. I fell in love with Chirp. She is a kid that I would love to wrap my arms around and call my own. Not only did I connect with her on a mothering level but also as a child. As I read through the book, I remembered so many emotions from when my mom was sick as a child. Chirp’s gained a special spot in my heart.

Nest by Esther Ehrlich

Nest tells the story of Naomi, or Chirp, and her family. Chirp is a little girl who is spunky, full of life, and close with her mom. Then tragedy strikes the family. Chirp’s life is forever changed. Thru the family upset, she develops an unlikely friend with a neighbor boy.

I really enjoyed this story. It has the charm and attraction of a classic. It is set in the 70’s and there are several references to that time. I loved how the author put in the extra information on the birds. It was a nice detail that added depth to the story. Although this book is written for the younger readers (grades 4-6), there is no lack of depth to this story. The author does a wonderful job pulling the reader in and developing the relationships. Her ability to capture the emotions of a young girl was superb.

This book is a simple yet complex book with the makings of a classic. I would recommend this book for anyone grades 4-6. This book could be used in a classroom as it has some wonderful points for discussion.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 bookends.

I received this book from the publisher using Netgallery.com for an honest review.

