Another book review for you! I’ll probably have a few more coming over the next couple of weeks as I’ve got a stack of books to read. I’m always content having a stack of books :), so don’t feel bad for me.

IMG_20140924_100818

Tried and True by Mary Connealy

Tried and True tells the story of Kylie Wilde the youngest of the Wilde sisters. Kylie, unlike her sisters, is desperate to move back to civilization. Unfortunately, she must stay on her land for an additional two years before she’s able to sell it, possibly longer if her war exemption is revoked. Her and her sisters had enlisted in the civil war and had fought as men. Her sisters embrace acting and dressing as men. Kylie resents it and wears dresses and her hair long. Everything was going along well with her homestead until Aaron the local land agent discovers that Kylie is, in fact, a woman. Throw in a local rancher who wants Kylie’s land for grazing his cattle and you’ve got a wild west story complete with burning arrows and gunpowder!

This is the second book of Mary Connealy’s that I’ve read. This one was a nice quick read, I finished it in just a few day and if I didn’t have kids, I’d could’ve read it in a night. I really enjoyed this book. I do think the acting like men and serving in the Civil War may have been a stretch. I have no idea if that historically ever happened. The sisters are described as quite pretty, so I would imagine, even during war, someone would’ve have noticed. But none the less, this book was very good!

I found this book to be a new, fun way to look at the settlement of the West. This book is a Christian book as it does mention God and in several places there are conversations about God and forgiveness. However, it is not overdone, in fact, I feel there were other places the author could have added more Christian conversation. This would be a great book for someone wanted to try-out a Christian book for the first time.

I give this book a 4.5 out 5 bookends.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for an honest review.

