Book club is back! I do enjoy my time  reading and discussing the books. We meet last month and read Left to Tell. That book is a great story of faith in the midst of crisis. It is a book that was hard to read in some parts and I had to take a break. It truly is an amazing story.IMG_20141029_205403y.

 

This review today is on Girl Meets God: A Memoir by Lauren F. Winner

This book tells the story of Lauren Winner and her conversion to Christianity from Judaism. She was born to a non-practicing Jewish father and a non-practicing southern Baptist mother. Lauren is a scholar with a book addiction. She found herself first as an Orthodox Jew and then moved into Christianity.

I was very excited to read this book. Unfortunately the book left me feeling confused and wanting more. The book bounces around in time. She mixed her Jewish and Christian time frames throughout the book. It made it confusing to know when she was referring or talking about. I found it hard to follow and frustrating.

I will say, I found discussing the book helped me appreciate it more and brought more meaning to the story.

I would recommend if you read the book, that you find someone to discuss the book with you.

I give this book a 2 out 5 bookends.

