I’m a bit behind in typing these book reviews. I will apologize now for posting two right after the other. I will also soon (hopefully) post about my trip to Japan. It was an amazing trip.

The Job by Janet Evanovich, Goldberg, Lee

Despite having one of her books on my bookshelf, this is the first Janet Evanovich book I’ve read. I read this book on the plane to Japan. It was a quick read and I was pulled in.

The job tells the story of Special Agent Kate O’Hare and con man Nicolas Fox as they pair up to catch a global drug lord. The two use unconventional methods to track down a man who no one knows what he looks like or where to find him. They pull-in O’Hare’s father, an actor, a Hollywood special effects man, and a pirate to bring in their man. It’s action-filled and reminiscent of a James Bond book.

This is the 3rd in its series and I didn’t read the other two. I don’t think its necessary to be able to read this book. The book does a good job of providing the history of the characters without feeling forced. The book was entertaining and I easily got pulled in. I did the book was a bit far-fetched, but it was entertaining. I did find the FBI girl in love the hard-bodied con man a bit cliché. The writer does have talent and I enjoyed the writing style. I do believe this book would make a good movie, its action-filled. Unfortunately it is a bit shallow for what I like in a book.

Overall, I did enjoy this book and it was a good way to kill some time on a plane. But it wasn’t great.

On a scale of 1-5 bookends, I give this book a 3.

I received this book from Netgallery.com for honest opinion.

