It’s been a busy holiday season here! I’ve got a back load of books so hopefully there will be a review a week in order to get caught up. I also need to get my New Year’s resolutions written out. I’ve started that post but didn’t get back to you.

The Brickmaker’s Bride by: Judith Miller

Ewan McKay immigrated to the US with his uncle in search of a better life. Uncle Hugh purchases the brickyard from a Civil War widow and her daughter, Laura. Laura helps Ewan with the initial operations of the brickyard. The two feel connected but Laura is being courted by a lawyer with political aspirations. Unfortunately when Uncle Hugh makes a poor business deal, Ewan faces losing everything he’s worked hard to achieve.

I truly enjoyed this book. It wasn’t particularly fast paced but it kept me interested. The story is filled with rich characters who draw you in. I will admit that I’m sucker for a book that helps teach you as you read. In this book, the reader get’s insights to the brickmaking process. In my opinion, this demonstrates the author’s research and understanding of the book’s premise and also adds depth to the book.

This book had several recurring themes. One of those being ethical business practices. Uncle Hugh was a difficult man who didn’t think through to the future and rushed into business. He tended to be quick to anger and quicker to push-off blame. Another theme was trusting in God and God’s timing. Ewan practiced patience and waiting when dealing with Uncle Hugh and becoming partner in the business. Laura waiting on God’s timing in waiting on the right husband. This book also looked at the discrimination immigrants, especially Irish immigrants, faced when first coming to this country.

I have very little negative to say about the book. The writing style is easy to follow and enjoyable, the research added richness to the book, and the characters added authenticity. The length of the book was good, maybe a touch on the longer side but I don’t think there was anyway to shorten it. The end change in Uncle Hugh’s personality was a bit to quick. It felt a bit unbelievable. I think that could’ve been handled a bit differently.

Overall this book was very good and quite enjoyable.

I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 bookends.

I did receive this book for free from Bethany House Publishing for an honest review.

