IMG_20150319_205926

The Expats by Chris Pavone

Kate Moore and her family moved to Luxemburg for he husband, Dexter’s job. Her life in Luxemburg started off good, playdates and coffee shops. Then she begins to suspect her husband’s honesty. She begins to worry her own past is catching up to her. she begins to worry her new friends are not honest. Her life changes from mundane to dangerous.

Chris Pavone lived as an expat and stay at home parent. His first hand knowledge of Luxemburg and expat life made that part of the story very believable. I enjoyed the details of life in Luxemburg. The book jumps around in time giving it a “movie” feel to it. The CIA and spy aspects of the book were a bit far-fetched but most spy novels and such usually are.

There were a few things that could be improved with this book. The first is the characterization of Kate. there was something a bit off about her. I’m not certain what it is, but I think it may be they way she thought about things seemed to masculine. Woman and men think differently, I believe with the author being male, he had some challenges with this. The book seemed a bit choppy as it bounced from past to present. As I got further in the book, this was easier to follow.

Overall, I was disappointed by this book. It wasn’t a bad book, I just wanted a bit more. I was looking forward to a great spy book with a female main character. And this one fell a bit flat.

This book would be appropriate for an adult. I do not recommend it to a teenager due to the sexual context and situations. There is also alcohol drinking in the book.

On a scale of 1-5 Bookends with 5 being fantastic, I give this book a 3.

I did receive a copy of this book for free from the publisher for an honest review.

