Good evening! I’m very excited to have finished my NP degree and that I can begin focusing on other things beyond medical knowledge! It feels great and I’ll post a blog entry after awhile regarding this journey. Right now, though, I’m focusing on studying for boards and getting back into some of my hobbies.

One of those hobbies of course is reading! I love a good book and I love cookbooks. As I was reviewing my book reviews, I realized I had this cook book sitting here waiting on a review. So I figured I’d better start with that.

Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook by Pearl Barrett & Serene Allison

20170508_180648

This cookbook is written by two sisters who enjoys healthy eating. The book has over 400 pages of recipes and tips. The book has options for one-pot meals to deserts. It has great color pictures of the completed food and easy to follow instructions. The recipes I tried turned out good. I also love that this cookbook provides ways to make things dairy free.

The downfalls to the cookbook. There are several ingredients I don’t typically keep in my kitchen. As long as you meal plan and know what you’re making ahead of time, that’s not a huge deal. Some of the ingredients, quite honestly, I didn’t want to take the time to find as I’ve not seen them in my local grocery store. Some examples of this is Brigg liquid aminos, nutritional yeast, and mineral salt. I’m sure one could find them but I’ve just not put in the effort. A second downfall is there are no approximate total preperation/cooking times. Now this isn’t a huge deal, but as a busy mom, its nice to quickly look at recipe and know how long it will take. This is especially helpful when I menu plan so I don’t try to make a complicated dinner on a week night.

Overall, this is a solid cookbook. Especially if you plan to jump in and purchase all the specialized ingredients. Unfortunately for me, a busy mom, I need something with approximate times and ingredients already in my kitchen for a cookbook to be my go-to book.

I give this cookbook a 3 out 5 bookends.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publishers for an honest review

